Mirror Moment#4 – The difficulty of crochet

I have just learned to crochet.  This in itself is not a big thing.  There are millions of people all over the world who know how to crochet.  But not me.  Crochet has been my stumbling block.  My grandmother crocheted.  She tried to teach me.  My mother crocheted.  She tried to teach me.  My daughter and I tried to learn together a couple of summers ago.  She mastered it.  I didn’t.  I was beginning to think that it was just too darn difficult!

My mother and my daughter were talking about this a few weeks back and commenting how it was weird that I’d never managed to crochet when I can do all kinds of other arts and crafts.  Give me a crochet hook and yarn and I was a fumble fingers.  So I’d just about totally given up!

Recently, I had just decided I needed to learn a new skill of some sort… and what should come into my email inbox that day but a 12 day crochet lesson a day offer from Mollie Makes.  http://www.molliemakes.com/tag/12-days-crochet/

It seemed like a challenge.  I began to learn.   This took a great deal of concentration,  commitment and perserverance.  I got there.  I got through all 12 lessons.  Exhilaration!  I could crochet.  But… I still felt like a fumble fingers!  Every time I picked up the hook and yarn, I had to go back to the first video on “How to hold your hook and yarn”

Crazy for Crochet

Here was my stumbling block.  Here is where all my problems began.  Here is where I get stuck. Holding the hook and yarn does not come naturally to me. Replay. Replay. Replay.  On the one thousandth replay my brain processed the words on the screen in the video; “There are several ways to hold your yarn”.

Mirror moment!  I’m looking this wrongly.  I need to see the ‘how to do’ from a different viewpoint.  I’m thinking I should just copy the most obvious method from these clever people who know what they’re doing, but maybe the way I want to hold the yarn is different to how everyone has taught me or how it is on this video.  Maybe there’s another way?!

Thanks to youtube and numerous helpful people who have posted crochet  “How to” videos I figured out the way I personally want to hold the yarn… it was like the scales fell from my eyes… and after that I was away.  Everything just fell into place!  Crochet crazy!

Sometimes I think this is how it is for would-be followers of Jesus.  While masses of people follow Jesus, and move happily along in their faith journey alongside countless others all on the same journey, other people get stuck before they start.   They get stuck on a particular technicality or way of looking at things and it stops them from getting underway. They need to see things from a fresh viewpoint.

Hmmm…. that reminds me of the story of Saul in the Bible. He was horrible to followers of Jesus.  But then he was struck blind.  He had a complete turn around and something like fish the scales fell from his eyes? He went on to become a follower of Jesus himself.  He even wrote some of the books in the Bible!

Ananias left and went into the house where Saul was staying. Ananias placed his hands on him and said, “Saul, the Lord Jesus has sent me. He is the same one who appeared to you along the road. He wants you to be able to see and to be filled with the Holy Spirit.”

Suddenly something like fish scales fell from Saul’s eyes, and he could see. He got up and was baptized. Then he ate and felt much better.  Acts9:17-18 (Contemporary English Version)

It takes courage to stop and look at things from a different perspective.

Mirror moment – when in front of you, you see reflected your inner self staring back at you.  And sometimes what you see makes you stop and think and change!

One thought on “Mirror Moment#4 – The difficulty of crochet

Leave a Reply

