Mirror Moment #2 – Neighbours

I was at a function recently seated at a table of complete strangers.  It wasn’t a Christian setting and I had no reason to think those that we were seated with were followers of Jesus. We exchanged the usual small talk with each other over several hours.

The woman next to me told me about how she and her husband had moved from their family home into a new townhouse a couple of years prior.  We were talking about how easy it is to get to know your neighbours when you have children, how it’s hard to find community in new housing areas, but how busy we get with our current daily lives and how hard it’s to find time to even catch up with friends and family let alone neighbours.

Woman Whispering Secret
Retro styled woman whispers secret into friend’s ear

All of a sudden she stopped mid-sentence – “What am I saying?” she said.  “I don’t want to get to know my neighbours!”

“I’m too greedy – I’m greedy!  I want to have time to myself.  I want to work for money so I can buy myself nice things.  If I really wanted to get to know my neighbours – I’d do it and stop making excuses! This is wrong!”

Hmmm didn’t Jesus say something in the Bible about loving our neighbours?

Mirror moment – when in front of you, you see reflected your inner self staring back at you.  And sometimes what you see makes you stop and think and change! 

“Teacher, which commandment in the law is the greatest?” He said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the greatest and first commandment. And a second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” – Matthew 22:36-39 New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

Leave a Reply

